12th T.N. KHOSHOO MEMORIAL AWARD, 26 October 2015

The TN Khoshoo Memorial Award is conferred every year to honour the memory of the world-renowned environmental scientist, Dr Triloki Nath Khoshoo. The award is given to a practitioner or academician whose work has had an impact in the area of environment, conservation or development.

The TN Khoshoo Memorial Award for 2015 is given to Dr Navroz K Dubash, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research (CPR), New Delhi in recognition of the impact of his work on Indian climate change policy and the international discourse on global climate governance.

Dr Dubash’s research has focussed attention on governance mechanisms to operationalize a co-benefits framework to simultaneously address growth and environmental objectives in developing countries like India. As coordinator of CPR’s Climate Initiative, he has spearheaded an assessment of India’s state action plans on climate change. His edited book “A Handbook of Climate Change and India: Development, Policy and Governance” (2012) is a leading reference to understand the evolution of Indian perspectives and politics on climate change. He has been a Lead Author and Synthesis Report author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (AR5), and has served on India’s Expert Committee on Low Carbon Strategies for Inclusive Growth and other national committees on water and energy policy.

Dr Dubash’s research and policy contributions have informed and strengthened India’s position in the climate change negotiations over the last several years. His work has furthered the field of climate policy by combining elements as diverse as energy modelling, air quality health impacts, political science and institutional analysis.

TN Khoshoo Memorial Award 2015 Event

Monday, 26 October
Venue: Alliance Française Bangalore

5.00 Welcome address: Dr Ganesan Balachander, Director, ATREE
5.15 Presentation of the TN Khoshoo Memorial Award by Chief Guest,
  Shri Dinesh Gundu Rao, Minister of Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Government of Karnataka, Bangalore
5.20 Address by awardee, Dr. Navroz K Dubash, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi
5.45 Introduction to Panel discussion: “Looking beyond Paris: Strategies for an equitable and low carbon future for India” by Dr Sharachchandra Lele, Senior Fellow, ATREE
  -          Dr Satish B. Agnihotri, Former Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Government of India, New Delhi ( Moderator)
  -          Ms Svati Bhogle, Chief Executive, Technology Informatics Design Endeavour (TIDE), Bangalore
  -          Mr Madhav Pai, Director, EMBARQ India, Mumbai
  -          Dr Ajit Ranade, Chief Economist, Aditya Birla Group, Mumbai
  -          Dr Ashok Sreenivas, Senior Research Fellow, Prayas, Pune